top of page

The Time is Now For Ryan Scripps


Ryan Scripps is ready to make a name for himself on The Voice. The San Jose native sang “Body Like A Back Road” by Sam Hunt landing himself on Team Blake.

Scripps began playing guitar when he was 9 years old. The talented artist did not begin singing until his senior year of high school. From there Scripps began uploading covers to Youtube. It is there that Scripps began gaining fans and inspiration to go after a singing career. The goal of making country music a full time career is what brought Scripps to The Voice stage.

“I came to The Voice because I just felt like I'm ready for this opportunity. Now is the right time to kind of take that next step in the direction of this being my full time career. If you asked if I was ready to audition for The Voice last year at this time I would have said no. I just felt like the timing was right and I needed to just go for it,” said Scripps.

With 20 seconds left in Scripps’ Blind Audition coach Blake Shelton turned his chair cementing his spot on the show. While Scripps would have been honored to be on either of the four teams working with the likes of Miley Cyrus, Jennifer Hudson, and Adam Levine, Shelton was the coach he had in mind from the beginning. Scripps had Shelton in mind because of the country music connection and when he saw Shelton turned his char Scripps became extremely excited.

“Oh my Gosh, well the first thing that went through my mind was don't forget the lyrics, don't mess up the rest of the song. Just keep singing the song strong, but I mean it was just a world wind of emotions. I mean I've never been so excited in my life, it was just amazing,” said Scripps.

“I was getting close to the end of the song, no chairs had turned yet. So I was just thinking to myself I'm going to get a chair to turn. I'm going to finish out this song as strong as possible, I got to nail the ending. Sure enough that’s when Blake turned around with about 20 seconds left of my song. I saw that chair turned and It was incredible and still so surreal. It was kind of fun to relive that the other night,” continued Scripps.

“Body Like A Back Road” is doing extremely well for Hunt and is getting a a lot of airplay on country music radio which is one of the reason why Scripps decided to sing it for his Blind Audition.

“It’s just a fun song. It’s right up my alley with the modern country/pop country which is more up the lane that I'm in right now in country music. It’s a fun song to sing, it’s got a fun meaning to it. Obviously it doesn't have a whole lot of deep meaning or anything like that it just a country song that’s about a girl. It’s one of my girlfriend’s favorite songs so I kind of did it for her as well….” said Scripps.

Scripps is extremely excited to be able to work with Shelton and for the voice journey. Scripps will now compete in the Battle Rounds for a chance to advance to the Knockout Round.

“I’m so excited, I mean words can’t really explain how excited I am. It’s just surreal you know I never thought anything like this would happen in my entire life. I just thank god everyday for this opportunity and like i said I've never felt like the timing was more right than now. So I'm just so excited to be able to work with Blake and his advisors Rascal Flatts coming in, and I cant wait for America to see it,” said Scripps.

“My main thing that I want to accomplish on The Voice is to help myself grow as an artist and really just give me that next step to do that and to make more of a name for myself in country music. The exposure that I need to go to the next level and having a coach like Blake Shelton I don't think theres any better way to do that. I'm just incredibly grateful and blessed,” continued Scripps.

To follow along on Scripps’ journey like him on Facebook, and follow him on Instagram (ryanscrippsmusic) and Twitter (@ryanscripps).

Featued Posts 
Recent Posts 
Serach By Tags
bottom of page