top of page

Todd Tilghman Has a Spot on Team Blake


It is that time of year again when hundreds of artists audition to have a coach fight for their talent. NBC’s The Voice has begun it’s 18th season. On season 18 coaches Blake Shelton, Kelly Clarkson, John Legend, and new comer Nick Jonas will each carry 10 artists into the Battle Rounds. Todd Tilghman was one of the first artists to join Team Blake.

The talented artist got his start in music in the church. The father of eight was encouraged to audition for The Voice by his wife. In fact after going through with the initial process of auditioning for the Voice Tilghman almost didn’t go through with it, his wife was the one who convinced him he deserved the shot.

“My wife pushed me to audition and [I am glad she did],” said Tilghman.

For his Blind Audition song Tilghman sang “We’ve Got Tonight” by Bob Seger and The Silver Bullet Band. The talented artist got all four coaches to push their chair and once the audition was over the fight was on. All of the coaches put up a great fight but in the end Shelton won because of the connection Tilghman feels he has with the Country Music superstar.

“All of the coaches are extremely talented but I decided to go with Blake because I feel like we are the sane type of guy.I feel connected with him. I am excited to work with Blake,” said Tilghman.

Shelton was impressed with every facet of Tilghman’s performance. According to the Country Music crooner Tilghman’s performance reminded him of why he comes back each season to coach on The Voice.

“I love your voice. I love your passion. I love the range. I love how not smooth it is, it gives you something to get a hold of... You are so amped up and it reminds me of why I want to continue to be a coach on this show. It is to work with people like you,” said Shelton

When an artist auditions for The Voice it is only natural for them to want to win it all. For Tilghman it is more than that. It is about the exposure, it is about the possibility of having a career in the Music Business.

“I hope The Voice can open new doors.I hope I can have a career in music...” said Tilghman

Next up for Tilghman will be The Battle Rounds. To see who the talented artist might face in The Battle Rounds tune into NBC’s The Voice on Mondays and Tuesdays. If you are hearing Tilghman for the first time he wants you to know he is all about the emotion behind the music.

Featued Posts 
Recent Posts 
Serach By Tags
bottom of page