top of page

Todd Tilghman Has Been Crowned The Voice


Todd Tilghman is The Voice. The talented artist has been crowned the Season 18 winner of The Voice. Tilghman can now also add a number one song to his catalog.

During the first night of the Finale the Artists each sang two songs, one of which was an original song. For his original song Tilghman sang “Long Way Home” the song was written by Dustin Christensen, Ester Dean, Ryan Innes, Ryan Tedder and Shane McAnally. With the original songs NBC’s Songland was involved. Dean, Tedder and McAnally are on Songland. The Artists had a choice between songs they wrote and songs from Songland, Tilghman decided to go with “Long Way Home” from Songland because of the connection he felt with the song and to add a song to his catalog. It was the right decision for the talented artist and the song shot up to number one on iTunes.

“Oh my gosh I told a couple of other people that, that day I was just looking for the song period because I didn’t find out until noon that day that it was even on iTunes. You know so when I found it, it was number 64 or 65 and I was over the moon about that. Then that night it was number one and I don’t know. Honestly Heather I don’t know how I felt it’s such a cool thing,” said Tilghman.

“It’s a great song and I love the song. I guess I thought if people listened, they would probably like it, but I didn’t expect so many people to listen to it like that you know what I mean. Everybody can relate to that song. That sometimes things just don’t work out the way you want them to but eventually you’ll get there… So, I thought everybody could relate to it, but I didn’t think they would relate so fast,” continued Tilghman.

With one sentence Carson Daly changed Tilghman’s life. Tilghman was surrounded by his children and wife when he was crowned The Voice. As soon as Daly crowned Tilghman The Voice, Coach Blake Shelton, Gwen Stefani, and their family, Tilghman and his family, all erupted with excitement. The life change moment was a blur for the talented artist.

That’s a funny story too. Leading up to that moment I and my wife too, we were just preparing my kids not to get upset when they announced the winner. I was like ok whenever they announce the winner you guys smile and clap and don’t cry and don’t get upset. We have a six year old son and a four year old daughter and they don’t understand you didn’t win. We were doing that during the commercial break and then after the commercial break before they announced the winner it’s almost like we had these unspoken ques for our kids to stay calm they were all kind of scared and upset,” said Tilghman.

“But honestly when he said Todd Tilghman congratulations, I remember that, and I don’t remember much after that. I remember I heard a confetti cannon blow; I do remember that. But then the next thing I remember is I was crying and the people on the tablet were talking to me and I had to turn back around and wave at the tablet and that’s all I remember. I don’t think I had a thought process at all,” continued Tilghman.

Tilghman shares a special connection to his coach Blake Shelton. From the very beginning Shelton has steered Tilghman in the right direction.

“I don’t know if it would fit snuggly in the advice category, but Blake did a very good job helping go in a direction that was good for me. He’s actually got a knack for that. I love 90’s country music, I love country music in general. But for example, if you listen to Blake Shelton sing, he’s got this really crisp country voice. He is country to the core, and I don’t have that voice. Son I didn’t think that was something I could do, but he has shown me that I can, and that people seem like they like it. So, I think that would be one of my biggest takeaways other than a friendship with him,” said Tilghman.

It seemed like Tilghman’s stock skyrocketed after his top 9 performance of “Love Me” and for Tilghman that was the highlight of the show for him.

“You know for me I really do feel like ‘Love Me’ the top 9 performance watching that back was probably the highlight of the show for me. I don’t really know how the American public thinks or what the trends are. I don’t have my finger on the pulse of pop culture or anything but what I do know that is in my own self I feel like my time on the show turned a corner in the performance. So, that was just the highlight for me. I feel like that set up whatever the result would have been that kind of settled in my own heart the reason why we did it and how meaningful and worthwhile it was,” said Tilghman.

Tilghman is ready to take Country Music by storm. To keep up with Tilghman and what he will do next; like him on Facebook (Todd Tilghman), follow him on Instagram (Todd_Tilghman) and Twitter (Todd_Tilghman).

Featued Posts 
Recent Posts 
Serach By Tags
bottom of page